Building on Strong Foundations: Best Practices for an Evolving Field

Each year, education abroad strives to adapt to shifting student populations, developments in higher education in the U.S. and internationally, and an evolving global landscape.

In this dynamic environment, widely-accepted standards provide a solid foundation, and the necessary tools to face new challenges.

As a community of practice, we have come to expect that we will gather, discuss, and cultivate best practices. Through critical dialogue, we reflect, rethink and reevaluate what we do, to improve education abroad for students, and for all stakeholders in education abroad.

The Forum’s 14th Annual Conference invites attendees to revisit the foundations of good practice, while elevating the discussion to address current realities of international education. Join us to engage in substantive dialogue, and return to your office with concrete takeaways that support quality education abroad programs.

The 14th Annual Conference will be held in Boston, MA, March 21-23, 2018.

Read the Call for Proposals»


Storify Forum EA Logo...

Follow the 14th Annual Conference on Storify

Host Institutions

Interested in being a host institution for the 14th Annual Conference? Send an email to conference@forumea.org for more information.


Conference Committee

John Tansey, Dartmouth College (Chair)
Sue Jackson, Whitworth University (Past Chair)
Janet Alperstein, New York University
Maria Jose Angel Mex, Lorenzo de’ Medici
Carolyn Becker, Texas Woman’s University
Chris Carroll, Florida State University
David Crisci, Regis College
Alanna Dick, Education New Zealand
Timothy Lynn Elliott, Brigham Young University
Caroline Enright, Trinity College Dublin
Lili Folsom, Lodestone Safety International
Darren Gallant, Brandeis University
Emily Gorlewski, Wesleyan University
Cara Lane-Toomey, Where There Be Dragons
Lisabeth Lassiter, The University of Texas at Dallas
Gareth McFeely, Boston University
Katie Sievers, College Year in Athens
Leslyn Tonge, University of the Virgin Islands
Tracy Weber, University of California Berkeley
Marcy Yeager, Northern Essex Community College


Looking for information on the 13th Annual Conference (Seattle, March 2017)? Visit the Annual Conference archive»