The Forum Council

The Forum Council works collaboratively with the Forum staff to produce member program services and benefits. The 15 members of the Forum Council are elected by the voting members of the Forum. In practice, this means that the Council provides the expertise needed to advance the five content areas through the production of deliverable products and services that benefit the membership. The Council oversees the work of the Goals Committees, Working Groups, and Task Forces, that exist under the five content areas and, twice yearly, informs the Forum Board of its activities. For a full description of position and expectations of Forum Council members, click here: Being a Forum Council Member


The Forum Council seeks to engage diverse representatives from education abroad and higher education to effectively represent the membership on the Council. In seeking nominations, the Council is particularly interested in nominees from underrepresented institutions and demographics including but not limited to nominees from community colleges, non U.S.-based institutions and organizations, young and midcareer professionals, minority-serving institutions, and institutions with diverse student populations.


In the interests of fair representation on the Forum Council, nominations for colleagues from institutions or organizations currently represented on the Council will not be put forth. In the case of multiple nominees from the same institution or organization, the Council Nominations Committee will consult with the voting member of the institution or organization and request that one nominee be endorsed.



Members of the Forum Council

(with dates of expiration of term)


Martin Hogan, chair (2014)

Deputy Executive Director, DIS: Danish Institute for Study Abroad


José B. Alvarez (2015)

Associate VP of Program Management & Development , CEA Global Education


Heather Barclay Hamir (2014)

Director of Study Abroad, The University of Texas at Austin


Brett Berquist (2016)

Executive Director of Study Abroad, Michigan State University


Laurie Black (2016)

Dean for External Relations and Strategic Enrollment, SIT


Nigel Cossar (2014)

Melbourne Global Manager, The University of Melbourne


Steven Duke (2015)

Director, Center for International Studies, Wake Forest University


Joan Gillespie (2015)

Vice President and Director of Off-Campus Programs, Associated Colleges of the Midwest


Nick Gozik (2016)

Director of the Office of International Programs and McGillycuddy-Logue Center for Undergraduate Global Studies, Boston College


Anne Haberkern (2016)

Director of Curriculum, Portland Community College


Martha Johnson (2014)

Assistant Dean, Learning Abroad Center, The University of Minnesota


Mark Lenhart (2016)

Executive Director, CET Academic Programs


Kelly McLaughlin (2015)

Director, Fellowship Programs; Director, Outcomes Assessment. Yale University Center for International and Professional Experience, Yale University


Sarah Spencer (2014)

Director, Study Abroad, The University of St. Thomas


Margaret Wiedenhoeft (2015)

Associate Director, International Center, Kalamazoo College